OTA Leadership and Governance




Board of Directors
President: Emil H. Schemitsch, MD, FIOTA
President-Elect: Douglas W. Lundy, MD, FIOTA
2nd President Elect: Thomas F. Higgins, MD 
Immediate Past President: Brendan M. Patterson, MD, FIOTA
2nd Past President: Michael T. Archdeacon, MD, FIOTA
Chief Financial Officer: Hassan R. Mir, MD, MBA,
Secretary: Anna N. Miller, MD, FACS, FIOTA

Member at Large: Kelly A. Lefaivre, MD, FRCSC
Member at Large: Kyle J. Jeray, MD
Member at Large: George V. Russell, MD
Annual Meeting Program Chair: Nirmal C. Tejwani, MD, FRCS

2024 Ex-Officio Board Members
IOTA Steering Committee Chair: Theodore Miclau, III, MD, FIOTA
Publications Committee Chair: Michael J. Gardner, MD
CFO-Elect: Michael Suk, MD, JD, MPH, MBA

Committee Chairs
American College of Surgeons - Committee on Trauma Representative: Bryant Will Oliphant, MD, MBA, MSc
Annual Meeting Program Chair: Nirmal C. Tejwani, MD, FRCS
Basic Science: Justin Haller, MD
Bylaws and Hearings: Matthew D. Karam, MD
Classification and Outcomes: Ashley E. Levack, MD 
Disaster Management and Emergency Preparedness: Daniel J. Stinner, MD, LTC, PhD
Diversity: Jacque J. Krumrey, MD
Education: Brian H. Mullis, MD, FIOTA
Evidence Based Quality & Value: Clay Spitler, MD 
Fellowship and Career Choices: Mike J. Weaver, MD 
Fellowship Match Compliance: Dan R. Schlatterer, DO, FIOTA
Finance and Audit: Hassan R. Mir, MD, MBA, FACS, FIOTA
Fund Development/Vendor Policy: Robert A. Probe, MD
Global Relations Committee: Theodore Miclau, III, MD, FIOTA
Health Policy and Planning: Milan K Sen, MD ,FRCSC, FAAOS, FIOTA
Humanitarian: Paul S. Whiting, MD, FIOTA
International Relations: Hans-Christoph Pape, MD, FACS, FAAOS, FOA, FIOTA
International Trauma Care Forum Sub-committee: Theodore Miclau, III, MD, FIOTA
Membership: Milton Little, MD
Military: Michelle Gosselin, BS, MD
Nominating and Past Presidents Liaison: 
Brendan Patterson, MD

Online Discussion Forum Committee: Richard S Yoon, MD, FIOTA
Patient Education Committee: Christopher Domes, MD
Patient Mental Health: Philip R. Wolinsky, MD
Podcast Sub-Committee: Michael Blankstein, MD, FRCSC
Practice Management: Brian P. Cunningham, MD
Publications: Michael J. Gardner, MD

Public Relations and Branding: 
Babar Shafiq, MD
Research: Prism Schneider, MD, PHD, FRCSC
Strategic Research Initiative: Saam Morshed, MD, PhD
Traveling Fellowship: Anna N. Miller, MD, FACS, FIOTA
Video Library: Mark Hake, MD

Young Orthopaedic Trauma Surgeons: Arvind von Keudell, MD

Task Force Chairs
Moral Injury, Advocacy and Member Well-Being: Matthew R. Garner, MD
Anniversary Task Force: Edward J. Harvey, MD, FIOTA
AI Task Force: Meir Marmor, MD