Center for Orthopaedic Trauma Advancement - COTA


GRANT APPLICATION for the 2024 - 2025 Academic Year

2024 COTA Grant Application - CLOSED
The application was due January 29, 2024. 
Applications are currently under review and award letters will be sent to programs in mid-April.

COTA 2024 Informational Flyer 

Criteria and Instructions for Programs

CPT Code Summary Report Template - Required for COTA Grant Application Submission 

For questions about the COTA Grant, contact Rachel O'Connell at

COTA is grateful for the financial support for the 2023 - 2024 awards


New Smith + Nephew




DePuy Synthes Logo






Stryker Logo




COTA 2023 - 2024 Fellowship Program Awards:

  • Allegheny Health Network, Edward Westrick, MD, Director
  • Carolinas Medical Center, Madhav Karunakar, MD, Director
  • Cooper University Hospital, Rakesh Mashru, MD, Director
  • Denver Health, Stephen Stacey, MD, Director
  • Duke University, Rachel Reilly, MD, Director
  • Emory Orthopaedic Trauma at Grady Memorial Hospital, Thomas Moore Jr., MD, Director 
  • Georgia Orthopaedic Trauma Institute, Daniel Chan, MD, Director
  • Harvard, Combined Mass General and Brigham and Women’s Hospitals, Michael Weaver, MD, Director
  • Hospital for Special Surgery, William Ricci, MD, Director
  • Indiana University Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship, Ramon Natoli, MD, Director
  • Los Angeles County / USC Medical Center, Jackson Lee, MD, Director
  • Orlando Regional Medical Center, George Haidukewych, MD, Director
  • OrthoIndy, Timothy G. Weber, MD, Director
  • Prisma Health System, Greenville, John 'JD' Adams, MD, Director
  • Reno Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship, Peter Althausen, MD, Director
  • Rutgers, NJMS Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship, Mark Adams, MD, Director
  • Saint Louis University Orthopaedic Traumatology Fellowship, Thomas Revak, DO, Director
  • Sonoran Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship, Gilbert Ortega, MD, Director
  • Stanford University, Michael Gardner, MD, Director
  • Tampa General Hospital, Roy Sanders, MD, Director 
  • University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center, Robert Wetzel, MD, Director
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham, Clay Spitler, MD, Director 
  • University of California, Davis, Sacramento, Mark Lee, MD, Director
  • University of California, San Francisco, Theodore Miclau III, MD, Director
  • University of Florida, Gainesville, Jennifer Hagen, MD, Director 
  • University of Kentucky, Raymond Wright, MD, Director 
  • University of Maryland, R. Adam Cowley Shock Trauma Center, Robert O'Toole, MD, Director
  • University of Minnesota, Regions Hospital, Peter Cole, MD, Director
  • University of Mississippi Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship, Matthew Graves, MD, Director
  • University of Missouri, Brett Crist, MD, Director
  • University of Oklahoma/ St. John Health System Foundation, Mark Calder, MD, Director
  • University of Texas Health Science Center, Houston, Timothy Achor, MD, Director
  • University of Washington, Harborview Medical Center, David Barei, MD, Director
  • Vanderbilt University, William Obremskey, MD, Director 
  • Wake Forest University School of Medicine Trauma Fellowship, Eben Carroll, MD, Director 
  • Washington University  Orthopaedic Trauma Fellowship, Christopher McAndrew, MD, Director   
  • Yale University Trauma Fellowship, Brad Yoo, MD, Director

About the COTA Grants Program

The Center Orthopaedic Trauma Advancement (COTA) was chartered in 2009 to serve as a non-conflicted intermediary to distribute support for fellowships and postgraduate education from unrestricted grants donated by industry. COTA has secured funding to provide support for orthopaedic trauma fellowships in the United States. Funding will be determined on the basis of the quality of the fellowship program and is expected to be a competitive process.

The COTA board has established a committee to review applications and distribute grants. Grants will range between $2,000 and $75,000 and will be awarded annually based upon the program application in the first year and the program application as well as the report of the graduating fellow in subsequent years.

Since its inception in 2009 through March 2022, COTA has awarded more than $12,000,000 in fellowship funding to trauma fellowship programs, those being both full and partially funded programs. COTA decisions regarding the number of orthopaedic trauma fellowship grants will be determined by commitments received from industry during the selection meeting in March of each year.