Make a year-end gift Here

Friends of the OTA,

Reflecting on our past, those associated with the OTA should be proud! Originating as a small group, seeking a venue to discuss the challenges presented by their trauma patients, four decades of strong leadership and perpetual growth have led to a list of impressive milestones:

  • Membership that exceeds 3,000
  • The premier Orthopaedic Trauma Annual Meeting
  • 5,800 residents and fellows benefiting from OTA educational programs
  • $13,500,000 in cumulative research funding, leading to:
    • 340 publications
    • 736 presentations
    • $77,500,000 of secondary grants

As remarkable as these accomplishments are, current leadership believes there is more to accomplish and have incorporated these aspirations into the recently released strategic plan. Taking the organization to new heights in the categories of education accessibility, high quality prospective research, impactful advocacy, global reach and investing in people are all priorities you will be hearing more about.

As just one tangible example amongst many, we are approaching the release of the first “living textbook” in Orthopaedic Trauma. The experience of the best authors continuously incorporating the most current research into a format that would be available “just in time” worldwide. Just one more example of how the OTA continues to lead!

The challenge is that these dreams need to be financed. Current revenues are largely allocated to current operations, leaving little to spare for the long list of innovations we are capable of. This is where your support is vital.

The desire of the OTA to achieve its vision of “global excellence in the care of Orthopaedic trauma patients” has never been stronger. I hope that as you consider your allocation of 2023 philanthropic dollars, you will consider what remarkable stewards the OTA has been in the past and will continue to be in the future.

With warm regards and well wishes for a joyful holiday season.

Dr. Emil Schemitsch, OTA President

Dr. Robert Probe, Fund Development Chair