OTA Member Selected to ACS Future Trauma Leaders Program


Image removed.

The American College of Surgeons (ACS) has selected Joseph (Joey) Johnson, MD, to be the inaugural OTA-funded member of the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (COT) Future Trauma Leaders (FTL) program. The membership comprises a term of two years, to begin with the Committee’s Annual Meeting in March 2023 and concluding with the Clinical Congress meeting in October 2024. Dr. Johnson was selected from a pool of 48 candidates considered by the COT Membership Committee, Executive Committees, and the ACS Board of Regents.

The FTL program is a unique way for the COT to offer an in-depth training and mentoring opportunity to junior trauma and acute care surgeons (not more than five years out from fellowship completion). A competitive application process is used to solicit candidates to participate in the two-year program. In return, the COT will benefit from the work product delivered out of surgical assignments and committee participation from the participant.

Visit the ACS FTL Program website for more information.