

## **Publications Committee Charges/Charter**

The OTA Publications Committee is a standing committee of the OTA Board of Directors. The Publications Committee, with guidance and approval of the OTA Board, defines aims and scope of OTA Publications, establishes editorial policy, sets goals for content strategy, monitors the balance of content, determines current and future editorial organization and composition, oversees policy matters, interfaces with publisher(s) on strategic issues, and determines interactions between the publications (e.g. *JOT* and *OTA International* manuscript transfer (i.e. cascade of submissions)).

The Publications Committee respects the editorial independence of the various editors (*JOT, OTA International*, Video) regarding editorial decisions; but reserves the right to define strategy and establish parameters/aims and scope (and sometimes types of content).

Publications Committee Charges:

- Oversight of the strategy, publication and dissemination of OTA owned and branded journals and textbooks. This includes:
  - Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma (JOT)
  - OTA International (Open Access Journal)

- *FractureBook* (and all textbooks including print, electronic, and "living textbooks" that are OTA-branded).

- Oversight of the following OTA Online resources (including content development and ongoing review):
  - Video Library
  - Podcast Library
- Oversight of OTA International including development of the editorial structure, establishing a growth strategy, building author interest in the international community, article recruitment from authors with broad appeal and metrics for defining progress

The OTA Board will have the primary responsibility for managing the financial relationship between OTA and the Publisher. The OTA Board, in collaboration with the Publisher, will establish compensation for Journal and textbook editors.

## **Publications Committee Membership**

Michael Gardner, MD, Chair Bill Ricci, MD; *Journal of Orthopaedic Trauma* Editor-in-Chief Anna Miller, MD, FIOTA; OTA Textbook Editor-in-Chief Andy Schmidt, MD, FIOTA; *OTA International* Editor-in-Chief Mark Hake, MD; Video Library Subcommittee Chair Michael Blankstein, MD, Podcast Committee Chair Mai Nguyen, MD Steve Warner, MD

Ex-Officio Members: Tyler Moon, MD, Resident Member Michael Suk, MD, OTA CFO Nirmal Tejwani, MD, Annual Program Chair Justin Haller, MD, Basic Science Focus Forum Chair Thuan Ly, MD, Education Chair Christopher Domes, MD, Patient Education Committee Chair Ted Miclau, MD, FIOTA, IOTA Chair Richard Yoon, MD, FIOTA, Discussion Forum Committee Chair Mark Baugh, WK Journal Publisher