

2025 OTA Specialty Day In Collaboration with the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America (POSNA)

Friday, March 14, 2025 San Diego, California San Diego Convention Center, Room 29ABCD

Planning Committee:

OTA: Arun Aneja, MD, PhD, Leah Gitajn, MD

POSNA: Philip McClure, MD, Benjamin Scheffer, MD

8:00 a.m. – 8:05 a.m. Welcome: Emil Schemitsch, MD, FIOTA, OTA Past President Todd Milbrandt, MD, POSNA President **POSNA** 8:05 a.m. – 8:40 a.m. **Session I:** Symposia **30 Minutes Adolescent Fractures Session:** Moderators: Gleeson Rebello, MD, Alex Kuzma, MD 8:05 a.m. - 8:15 a.m. Can I Nail It? - Tibial Shaft Fractures - Benjamin Sheffer, MD 8:15 a.m. - 8:25 a.m. Can I Nail It? - Femoral Shaft Retrograde/Anterograde Fractures - David Lazarus, MD 8:25 a.m. - 8:35 a.m. Adolescent Clavicle Fractures - Norman Ward, MD 8:35 a.m. - 8:40 a.m. Discussion, Q&A, Session Transition 8:40 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. **Session II:** 30 Minutes **PEDS Emergencies: Updates, Tips and Tricks From the Pedi-Pods** Moderators: Vishwas Talwalkar, MD Ashley Levak, MD 8:40 a.m. - 8:50 a.m. Type III Supracondylar Humerus Fractures: Evidence Based Update - Hilda Kriel, MD Septic Arthritis in Pediatric Patients 8:50 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. - Ben Shore, MD 9:00 a.m. - 9:10 a.m. Compartment Syndrome - Joshua Abzug, MD 9:10 a.m. - 9:15 a.m. Discussion, Q&A, Session Transition 9:15 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. Break 9:30 a.m. – 10:05 a.m. **Session III:** 30 Minutes **Pedi Pelvis & Acetabular Fractures** Moderators: Philip McClure, MD, Jon Eastman, MD Avulsion Fractures of the Pediatric Pelvis: When to Fix? 9:30 a.m. - 9:40 a.m.

		- Emmanouil Grigoriou, MD
	9:40 a.m 9:50 a.m.	Tips and Tricks with Pediatric/Adolescent Acetabular
	9.40 a.m 9.30 a.m.	Fractures
		- Abby Howenstein, MD
	0.50 a m 10.00 a m	*
	9:50 a.m 10:00 a.m.	Import Talent or Export the Case? Choosing Where to Address
		Pediatric Acetabular Fractures
		- Jessica McGraw-Heinrich, MD
	10:00 a.m 10:05 a.m.	Discission, Q&A, Session Transition
Trauma	10:05 a.m. – 11:05 a.m.	Session IV:
Only	1 hour	Practice Changing Papers You Might Not Have Heard
Topics		Of Moderators: Lucas Marchand, MD, Holly Pilson, MD
	10:05 a.m 10:15 a.m.	Open vs. Closed Reduction for Young Femoral Neck
		Fractures
		- Saam Morshed, MD, PhD
	10:15 a.m 10:25 a.m.	Risk-Stratified Thromboprophylaxis Effects of Aspirin
		Versus Low-Molecular-Weight Heparin in Orthopaedic
		Trauma Patients
	10:25 a.m 10:35 a.m.	- Nathan O'Hara, PhD, MHA Dual Plate Fixation of Distal Femur Fractures
	10:23 a.m 10:33 a.m.	- Eben Carrol, MD
	10:35 a.m 10:45 a.m.	Determining Stability in Posterior Wall Acetabular
	10.33 u.m. 10.13 u.m.	Fractures
		- Reza Firoozabadi, MD
	10:45 a.m 10:55 a.m.	Thromboelastography (TEG) in Patients With Hip Fractures
		- Prism Schneider, MD, PhD
	10:55 a.m 11:05 p.m.	Discussion, Q&A, & Session Transition
	11.05 a.m. 12.20 n.m.	Session V:
	11:05 a.m. – 12:20 p.m. 1 hour	Orthopaedic Trauma Advances in the "Pipeline"
	1 noui	Moderators: Robert O'Toole, MD Taylor Yong, MD
	11:05 a.m 11:15 a.m.	Osseointegration
		- Kyle Potter, MD
	11:15 a.m 11:25 a.m.	Next Generation Sequencing and Infection Biomarkers
		- Roman Natoli, MD, PhD
	11:25 a.m 11:35 a.m.	3D Printed Implants
		- Arjun Srinath, MD
	11:35 a.m 11:45 a.m.	Biphasic Plates
	11.45	- Mark Lee, MD
	11:45 a.m 11:55 a.m.	New Technology in Compartment Syndrome - Andrew Schmidt, MD, FIOTA
	11:55 p.m 12:05 p.m.	Discussion, Q&A, Session Transition
	12:05 p.m 12:20 p.m.	Break
	12:20 p.m 1:20 p.m.	OTA Business Meeting (OTA Members Only)
	1:20 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.	Session VI:
	1 hour, 10 min	OTA Chair's Choice Papers Selected from the 2024
		Annual Meeting
	1.00	Moderators: Nirmal Tejwani, MD Brianna Fram, MD
	1:20 p.m 1:26 p.m.	TBA
	1:32 p.m 1:38 p.m.	TBA
	1:38 p.m 1:44 p.m.	TBA
	1:44 p.m 1:50 p.m.	TBA

	1:50 p.m 1:56 p.m.	TBA
	1:56 p.m 2:02 p.m.	Discussion
	2:02 p.m 2:12 p.m.	Resident Memorial Award:
		TBA
	2:12 p.m 2:22 p.m.	Bovill Award Winner Introduction and Award:
		TBA
	2:22 p.m 2:30 p.m.	Discussion and Q&A
	2:30 p.m 3:00 p.m.	Session VII:
	30 min	Future OTA Presidents - Where is the OTA Headed?
		Moderators: Arun Aneja, MD, PhD, Leah Gitajn, MD
	2:30 p.m 2:40 p.m.	Doug Lundy, MD, FIOTA
	2:40 p.m 2:50 p.m.	Thomas Higgins, MD
	2:50 p.m 3:00 p.m.	William Obremskey, MD, MPH, FIOTA