

ORTHOPAEDIC — TRAUMA — ASSOCIATION

OTA Business Meeting Minutes Saturday, March 5, 2016

Meeting was called to order by Dr. Miclau at 11:50am.

Minutes of October 2015 business meeting were approved.

President's Report by Dr. Miclau

- Online Educational Platform and Resources: RFP is under development for a new online comprehensive educational platform to include living textbook, video library, and journal.
- Disaster Preparedness Project Team: AAOS, OTA, and SOMOS are collaborating to discuss and address pertinent issues around communication, preparation and education.
- Fragility Fracture Task Force: Charge is to promote leadership of orthopaedic surgeons in treatment of such patients. Collaboration is underway with AOA and AAOS.
- JOT Supplement Award: Military Committee has received this award from the Board to focus on lessons learned during the Global War on Terror.
- International Partnerships: Brief history of the Guest Nation program was provided, and prior Guests were acknowledged. India is the 2016 Guest Nation.
- New OTA Honorary Member: Dr. Stephen Perren has been selected as an honorary member; to be presented during our Annual Meeting in October.
- Welcome New Members: Total membership is currently 1,975. New members were welcomed, and all members were encouraged to help grow the membership. Next deadline for application is May 1, 2016.
- Research Grant Awards: Resident Research Grant Award recipients were acknowledged for funding June 1, 2016: A total of \$80,500 was awarded for five proposals. Upcoming grant application deadlines were reviewed.

CFO Report by Dr. Patterson

Total fund balance is \$8,538,676 as of December 31, 2015; our financial status is strong. We appear in good position to reach our goal of \$10M within 10 years. Return on this endowment helps us to fund research grants. Investment performance was reviewed. We see approximately 5% return overall. Key sources of revenue and major expenses were reviewed. Financial performance of the Annual Meeting was emphasized as crucial to supporting our operation. Individual member donations were encouraged.

COTA Report by Dr. Teague, COTA President

Board member and officer changes were announced. Jerry Lang is a new member of the COTA Board. Alan Jones was elected President, and Maureen Finnegan will be Treasurer.

Donors were acknowledged for a total of \$1,150,000 in 2015. Meetings are ongoing with other industry partners to encourage new donations. A new goal of an OTA member-funded fellowship grant totaling \$75K was announced.

This year 33 programs submitted applications for fellowship funding, and \$1,070,000 has been awarded for the 2016-17 academic year.

New Business

Bylaws Amendment by Dr. Stannard: Amendments to the bylaws were proposed - International Membership: number of sponsors required for membership application to decrease from 2 to 1. The applicant must be sponsored by one active or research member from a community and institution other than the applicant.

- CFO term will be limited (from two terms) to one 3-year term, preceded by a one year CFO-elect position as an ex officio, non-voting member.

"The Chief Financial Officer shall serve for one, three (3) year term of office, and may not be re-elected to the same office for a second term. This 3-year position will be preceded by a one (1) year CFO-Elect term, during which time he/she shall serve as an ex-officio member of the Board of Directors without vote."

Overview: Change provides for the addition of a 1-year CFO-Elect position to strengthen the transition; and reduces the term from a possible 6-year term, to a 4-year term (with the first year being an ex-officio member of the BOD).

- Motion: A motion was made and passed to allow a one-year extension to the current CFO's term (Dr. Patterson) in order to align with the newly passed term change.

Nominating Committee

Nominations were accepted for the 2016 Nominating Committee. Nominations included: Drs. Samir Mehta, Ed Harvey, Steve Cates, Paige Whittle, Emil Schemitsch, Tony Russell, Alex Jahangir, Greg Della Roca, and Hassan Mir.

Offices to be filled by the 2016 Nominating Committee:

- 2nd President-Elect
- CFO-elect
- Member-at-Large (1 position)
- Membership Committee (1 position)

The Nominating Committee shall present its recommended slate of nominees at the October 2016 Business Meeting for consideration by voting members.

Committee/Project Team Reports

a) Education Committee by Dr. Ostrum, Committee Chair: Committee members and course chairs were acknowledged. Core curriculum updates are being completed. Video library is being developed. Recent course attendance was presented. Co-branded ICLs were reviewed, process is being revised. Trauma OKU 5 is nearing completion with the E-book to be published in April. Upcoming webinars were announced. A mentoring process is being used to encourage new OTA members to participate as instructors. Starting in the 2017 cycle, MOC will offer a trauma-specific process for ABOS re-certification.

b) PR Committee by Dr. J. Smith, Committee Chair: Committee members were acknowledged. Recent PSAs were reviewed. A disaster PSA is underway in collaboration with the Disaster Preparedness Committee.

c) Health Policy Committee by Dr. Lundy, Committee Chair: Committee members were acknowledged. Upcoming activities include several Annual Meeting Symposium applications and development of new policy statements. Continued efforts on Performance Measure development in conjunction with the EBQVS Committee are underway. We anticipate a member benefit in meeting PQRS and MIPS requirements. Our PAC activities, through AAOS, were highlighted; congressional members sensitive to our issues are targeted. The goal for the orthopaedic PAC is \$3.75M for the 2015-16 cycle.

d) ACS Committee on Trauma by Dr. Georgiadis: Committee members were acknowledged. ACS TQIP Guidelines were highlighted. Changes to ACS site verification at level 1 centers were presented. Orthopaedic trauma metrics are being collected since August 2015. All call participants at Level 1 trauma centers must have trauma-related CME.

e) International Committee by Dr. Giannoudis: Committee members were acknowledged. India is our Guest Nation this year, and collaboration with India is ongoing. Members of the OTA Presidential line anticipate greater involvement with future Guest Nations in their international meeting venues.

Acknowledgements

a) Research Donors were acknowledged by Dr. Miclau. The Legacy Society is growing. Our industry partners were acknowledged.

b) Welcome New BOD Members and Committee Chairs: Dr. David Teague is 2nd President Elect, and Dr. Clifford Jones will be member at large New committee chairs were announced: K. Jeray (Membership), L. Taitsman (Fellowship), P. Appleton (Practice Management), D. Stinner (Military) Gratitude was expressed to outgoing leadership: Committee Chairs: M. Lee (Fellowship), P. Cole (Membership), M. Fleming (Military), S. Broderick (Practice Management) Course Chairs: K. Jeray (Residents Course), G. DellaRocca (Spring Residents Course), R.

Course Chairs: K. Jeray (Residents Course), G. DellaRocca (Spring Residents Course), R. Neiman (Advanced Residents Course)

BOD members: Dr. Egol (Member-at-Large) and Dr. Schmidt, outgoing past president.

c) The gavel was passed from Dr. Miclau to Dr. Olson.

Meeting was adjourned at 12:52 by Dr. Olson.