AFA Award

 Final Logo To Use Unitl New Afa Log Is Made


The Orthopaedic Trauma Association (OTA) and the American Fracture Association (AFA) are pleased to announce the establishment of a new annual award:  

                                          Community Surgeon Achievement Award 

Nominate yourself or a colleague:  Deadline: April 10, 2017


The Community Surgeon Achievement Award (CSAA)


Award Eligibly 

The recipient of this prestigious award must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Demonstrated outstanding community orthopaedic contributions
  • Dedicated his/her professional life to excellence in research and education at all community levels
  • Personal qualities of integrity, compassion and leadership in orthopaedic trauma

In addition, it is requested the award recipient agree to the following:

  • Serve on the selection committee for the following year’s CSAA Award
  • Attend the OTA Annul meeting to accept the CSAA Award (and possibly give a short presentation, as detailed by the OTA Program Committee)
  • Must be an OTA member in good standing
  • Submit online application (link below) and email CV to or

Award Recognition

  • The award recipient shall be recognized at the OTA Annual Meeting, in OTA publications and/or in press releases
  • The honoree will receive complimentary registration to the OTA Annual Meeting, and travel and hotel reimbursement (maximum reimbursement of $2,000)
  • The honoree will receive a plaque to commemorate the award

Application/Nomination Process
Individuals may apply via this link, or nominate colleague(s) for this award.

April 10, 2017


  • Applications accepted February 27th – April 10th.
  • Award winner shall be selected prior June 1st
  • Award presented at the October 11 – 14, 2017 OTA Annual Meeting in Vancouver, BC, Canada

Award Funding

The OTA extends sincere appreciation to the AFA for their partnership in establishment, and funding of this annual award.

About the AFA: The ‘Ambulatory Fracture Association’ was founded in 1938 by a group of mid-western surgeons who gathered together to discuss various types of fracture care and trauma related issues.   In 1952, under the leadership of President Henry Meyerding, the name was changed to the American Fracture Association (AFA), and the scope of the organization began to expand. Over the ensuing years, the organization expanded to engage international orthopaedic colleagues, establish a research fund, and awarded orthopaedic educational grants known as  ‘Meyerding Awards’  to aspiring young orthopaedic residents.