

OTA Business Meeting Minutes March 23, 2013, 11:45AM Chicago, IL

The meeting was called to order at 11:50AM by Dr. Probe, President.

PAC Update (Dr. Stuart Weinstein)

Dr. Weinstein delivered a presentation on the importance of advocacy. Current issues such as SGR resolution, tort reform, and others were mentioned. The PAC was formed in 1999 to raise and spend money to elect specific candidates who can provide a voice favorable to our group. The AAOS PAC has been very effective. Return on investment includes over \$200M of DOD funding for orthopaedic research. Currently 28% of AAOS members contribute; OTA members were encouraged to contribute and to contact Dr. Weinstein with questions.

CFO Report (Dr. David Hak, CFO)

Dr. Hak reported net assets over \$6.6M. Of this, \$5.5M is in our research and education fund. Investment portfolio and returns were presented. The 2013 budget was presented. The Annual Meeting has been a major source of revenue, while specialty day has, over several years, incurred losses. Educational courses also run at a deficit. Industry sponsorship of education and research has been an important source of support. Industry research donations have gradually declined recently. Donors from 2010-2012 were acknowledged.

Approval of Business Meeting Minutes (Dr. Heather Vallier, Secretary) Minutes from the October 2012 business meeting were approved.

COTA Report (Dr. Heather Vallier, COTA Board Member)

COTA Board members were acknowledged. The Center for Orthopaedic Trauma Advancement donors for 2012-13 included Smith Nephew, Stryker, and Synthes. The COTA grant process was described. 27 applications were received and over \$1M was allocated. Ten programs were awarded \$75K, 5 programs \$50K, and the other programs received educational funding.

New Business (Dr. Robert Probe)

a) Nominations: 2013 Nominating Committee

Dr. Probe reviewed the process for selection of OTA officers and directors. Active OTA members were encouraged to nominate themselves or colleagues as

potential members of the Nominating Committee. Diversity in scope of practice, location of practice, and gender/ethnicity were encouraged. Nominations were solicited and included: Drs. Animesh Agarwal, Ted Hansen, Jeff Smith, Toni McLaurin, Henry Broekhuyse. John Ruth, Bruce Browner, Attila Poka, Donald Wiss, Kyle Dickson.

b) Bylaws Amendment re: Int'l Membership Sponsors & Past President membership approval

The proposed revised wording for International membership sponsorship was reviewed. Motion accepted, approved to amend the Bylaws as presented. Dr. Probe described the methodology of approval of membership by past presidents, based on exceptional circumstances. Wording was presented and approved to amend the Bylaws as presented.

c) Announcements

- 2013 Annual Meeting—Save the Date

OTA members were encouraged to contact Mike Archdeacon to teach at the October Annual Meeting residents' course. One half day commitment at an offsite location is required. Our Annual Meeting will be October 9-12 in Phoenix, Arizona.

- ACS Collaboration / ACS Membership

Dr. Probe encouraged OTA members to consider application for American College of Surgeons membership. This will give us increased presence and ability to affect clinical and policy changes in our practice environment. Deadline for application to the AAOS Trauma Committee is March 25.

Committee Reports

a) Membership (Dr. Probe for N. Tejwani)

New members were welcomed. Membership in all categories has grown with 142 new members in 2013. Approximately 80% of newly graduated trauma fellows have joined the OTA. We now have 2 membership deadlines. Members were encouraged to invite colleagues to apply.

Dr. Attila Poka was acknowledged as an Active OTA member, and membership certificate was presented by Dr. Probe.

b) Research – Resident Grant Awards (Dr. Probe for T. McKinley)

Specific grant announcements were presented for the Resident Grant cycle June 1, 2013 to May 31, 2014. Four grants with a total of \$75,545 were funded.

c) Education Committee (Dr. Robert Ostrum)

Education Committee members were acknowledged. The new 2.0 (modular) format was described. This is time intensive and new faculty members are needed. Leadership and attendance of recent courses were presented. Upcoming courses were announced. The core curriculum is being updated by Dr. Koval and

section editor colleagues. Co-branded (with AAOS) ICLs are being encouraged. This year 14 ICLs were co-branded.

Hip and clavicle PIMs have been OTA board-approved, and the Committee is awaiting further direction on proceeding with the ankle PIM. On-line education is being developed. OTA members with high quality videos of surgical techniques are encouraged to submit them to Dr. Ostrum. Several webinars are planned for 2013.

The Winquist Cup Award was given to Dr. Michael Prayson for outstanding teaching and leadership of the casting lab in October 2012.

d) Public Relations Committee Update (Dr. Jeff Smith)

Committee members were acknowledged. The OTA Pelvis and acetabulum poster was shown; members may get hard copies or may download from the OTA website for use in their hospitals. The latest PSA was presented. Others will be forthcoming depending on the response of this PSA in the New York area. OTA members involved in the OTA Newsletter were acknowledged. Three issues are planned for this year. Contact Dr. Hasan Mir with articles or ideas.

e) Coding and Classification Committee (Dr. Craig Roberts)

Dr. Roberts was acknowledged for his leadership role in open fracture classification development. Committee members were acknowledged by Dr. Roberts. Dr. Marsh has played a pivotal role in the open fracture classification development. Another publication on this will be forthcoming soon. In the near future trauma center participants will be solicited to participate in validation and other studies of this classification.

Acknowledgements (Drs. Robert Probe / Andy Schmidt)

Dr. Probe acknowledged research donors and welcomed new BOD Members and Committee Chairs.

Dr. Cliff Jones will be the new Membership Committee Chair.

Dr. Scott Broderick will the new Practice Management Committee Chair.

Dr. Ted Miclau will enter the OTA Presidential line.

Gratitude was expressed to Dr. Templeman for his service in the Presidential Line.

Dr. Thomas Higgins will be the new Program Committee Chair.

Drs. Jim Goulet (outgoing Program Committee Chair), Nirmal Tejwani (outgoing Membership Chair) and Bill Creevy (outgoing Practice Management Chair) were acknowledged.

The gavel was passed from Dr. Probe to Dr. Andy Schmidt, incoming President. Dr. Schmidt provided remarks about the history of success of the OTA in meeting its mission, and acknowledged Dr. Probe for his leadership efforts the past year. Dr. Schmidt presented gifts to Drs. Probe, Goulet, and Templeman.

Meeting was adjourned by Dr. Schmidt at 12:40PM.