

ORTHOPAEDIC — TRAUMA — ASSOCIATION

OTA Business Meeting Saturday, March 28, 2015 12:10pm – 1:00pm Venetian/Sands Expo, Room 4403

Meeting was called to order at 12:16pm by Dr. Ross Leighton, President

October 2014 Business Meeting Minutes were approved.

CFO Report by Dr. Heather Vallier: Total fund balance was over \$8.6M at the end of 2014. Increased revenue in 2014 was noted due to dues increase and profit from Annual Meeting. Steady growth was noted in the research and education fund. Investment performance has been consistent with benchmarks. Current asset allocation is 75% equity, 25% fixed income. 2015 Annual budget was presented, anticipating \$213,900 in revenue, excluding management transition costs, projected at \$257,000. Annual meeting revenue has been strong, recent increases due to exhibit fees and industry sessions, along with increased attendance/registrations. Specialty Day has been profitable the past 2 years, dependent on attendance and venue. OTA underwrites educational courses, with subsidies of \$400-\$1,200 per registrant, depending on the course; the Fellow's Course is the most expensive. Research and education donations overall are strong, though industry donations to education have decreased, while individual member donations have increased.

COTA Report by Dr. Heather Vallier: COTA Directors were acknowledged. Dr. Brendan Patterson was acknowledged for 5 years as President of the COTA Board. COTA Donors were acknowledged. \$1,525,000 was donated to fellowship, education, and research for the 2014 cycle. \$1,250,000 has been pledged for the 2015 cycle. 30 programs applied for 2015 funds. Grants were awarded this week for a total of \$1,064,000. All applicants received at least an education grant; 17 received fellow salary funding.

OTA members are asked to reach out to contacts to encourage future donations to COTA, and to thank our current donors (Smith Nephew, Stryker, Synthes and Medtronic)

New Business

Nominations were solicited for the 2015 Nominating Committee: Drs. Daniel Horwitz, Kenneth Egol, Kyle Jeray, David Sanders, Melvin Rosenwasser, Paul Tornetta, and Tracy Watson were nominated. In the coming weeks the membership will vote to select the 2015 Nominating Committee.

Committee/Project Team Reports

a) Membership (presented by Dr. Leighton): Welcome was extended to new OTA members: Total membership is 1,912. The next membership application deadline is May 1st, and will include 50% prorated dues, as well as eligibility to pay the member rate for the OTA Annual Meeting.

b) Education Committee (presented by Dr. Bob Ostrum): Committee members were acknowledged; especially outgoing members, including Dr. Ricci who served as Chair the past 6 years, and Dr. Paul Tornetta. New course content and evaluation methods were highlighted. Course enrollments have been strong. Contributors to the online core curriculum were acknowledged. Section editors and chapter editors are needed. Scheduled webinars and ICLs were announced. Video library construction is underway and high quality videos are needed (details will be available on the website in April).

c) Video Library (presented by Dr. Robert Probe): Dr. Probe noted the opportunity for online education to extend our resources and faculty experience to a larger audience at a lower cost per user. The challenge is quality control, which many sites lack (the AAOS/OTA site will include high quality, peer- reviewed video). He noted the AAOS has made a significant investment in a technological platform to host a video app, and plans are underway for a collaborative AAOS/OTA trauma video channel. A three strategy approach for the development of the video library was presented: establishment of video library, development of JOT video supplement, and development of an Annual Meeting video theater.

<u>Action Item</u>: OTA Members are asked to consider submitting video, and to encourage their colleagues, fellows and residents to do so as well. Further details will be sent to the membership in April, and will also be available on the OTA website.

d) Research – Resident Grant Awards (presented by Dr. Greg Della Rocca): Resident grant awards for Jun 2015-May 2014 were proposed by the Research Committee and approved by the Board of Directors this week. 35 proposals were reviewed, 8 were funded for up to \$20,000 each. The approved list is attached and made part of these minutes.

e) **PR Committee** (presented by Dr. Jeff Smith): Committee members were acknowledged. Compartment syndrome poster is available for online download. The AAOS/OTA newest PSA was shown, which promotes motorcycle safety. Posters may be ordered through the OTA Business Office.

f) Practice Management (presented by Dr. Scott Broderick): Transition to ICD.10 has been the focus. A cheat sheet for members is being developed and will be deployed to our website in the near future. The member practice survey is being re-vamped for future distribution.

g) Health Policy (presented by Dr. Michael Suk): Updates were provided regarding custom medical device regulations. Dr. Suk also reviewed a new AAOS TV DVD available to AAOS members which has been developed to provide bone and joint health educational content for patients in the waiting room (to order a copy email: media@aaos.org) The AAOS is looking for additional future content; OTA members should share their ideas with Mike Suk. He also shared details of a new Board of Specialties (BOS) Quality and Patient Safety Action Fund available to BOD member organizations (matching funds of up to \$50k are available).

Acknowledgements for donations and service were expressed by Dr. Leighton. a) Research Donor Acknowledgements: 2014 research and education donors were acknowledged, including legacy (>\$10,000 lifetime) donors and industry donors.

b) Welcome New BOD Members & Committee Chairs: Dr. Bill Ricci, presidential line; Dr. Nirmal Tejwani, BOD member-at-large; Dr. Robert O'Toole, Program Committee Chair; Dr. Robert Ostrum, Education Committee; Dr. Peter Cole, Membership Committee Chair

c) Recognition of Outgoing Committee Members: Drs. Bill Ricci (Education), Mike Suk (Health Policy), Bill DeLong (International Relations), Cliff Jones (Membership)

d) Recognition of Outgoing BOD Members: Drs. Thomas Higgins, Douglas Lundy, Robert Probe

e) Passing of the Gavel from Dr. Ross Leighton to Dr. Ted Miclau, incoming OTA President. Dr. Leighton was acknowledged for his gracious service over the past year.

Meeting was adjourned at 1:05pm by Dr. Miclau.